Editorial Announcement

It is now time for me to step aside as Managing Editor of the Alabama Journal of Mathematics. I have been the Managing Editor since 2001. Through all of the years that I have been engaged in various aspects of the Journal's production, we have tried our very best to follow the high principles set out by our founders. The scope of the Journal has always been as broad as possible, to "stimulate and improve the level of mathematics interest, cognizance, and creativity" (to quote from the "Statement of Purpose" in the first issue) of the whole mathematics and mathematics education community, from K-12 to universities. This is a mathematics journal, but it is not a research publication, per se.

The next Managing Editor will be Professor Hussain Elalaoui-Talibi whose addresses are:

Department of Mathematics Tuskegee University Tuskegee, AL 36088 talibi@tuskegee.edu (334)-727-8212

Hussain has served as a member of the *Journal's* Editorial Board and has also been a contributor to the Journal over the past several years. No doubt you have also enjoyed the many submissions in the Undergraduate Research section of the Journal that were crafted by students under his direction. Based on his commitment to scholarship and service to the Alabama Mathematics Community, I am confident that the *Journal* will flourish under his direction.

As my last editorial task, I have the great pleasure to acknowledge and publicly thank a number of good people who, over many years, have given their precious time and many talents to the success of the *Alabama Journal of Mathematics*:

- Joe Albree, past Managing Editor of the *Journal*, for his mentoring
- Richard Borie for his submission of material for the *Problems* section of the *Journal*
- C. J. Daane, Patsy Lowry, Tony Thompson, Beth Thompson, Julie Herron, and Dale Campbell for their Contributions to the *Activities* section of the *Journal*
- Jeff Dodd, Zhijian Wu, Scott Brown, and Jim Gleason for their work in connection with the *Alabama Statewide Mathematics Contest*
- Judy Massey and the University of West Alabama for their logistical support and generous financial support
- Tuval Foguel and Auburn University Montgomery for their generous financial support
- Journal Editorial Board members Dan Flath, Nirmol Podder, Furman Smith, Barry Spieler, Robert Underwood, Beth Vinson, and Vitaly Voloshin
- Mike Hudak and Ken Roblee for channeling submissions to the *Solutions* section of the Journal
- Susan Palmer Slattery and Reiff LaFleur for their book reviews
- Jack Brown, John Mayer, and David Halpern for their Lewis-Parker submissions
- ACTM officers and Executive Council members in particular Cale Ebert, Anne Freeman, Christina Gomez, Michele Matin, Tommy Smith, Linda Ussery, and Joel White
- The University of West Alabama Printing Department: Jimmy Robinson, Gertraud "Traudy" Trawick, Betsy Compton, and Larry Hutchins for the great work that they've done producing and distributing the *Journal*.

Pat Rossi